Monday, 10 November 2008 15:05

How your suburb got its name

The Morphett electorate comprises the following suburbs:

Glenelg, Glenelg North, Glenelg South, Glenelg East, Glengowrie, Morphettville, West Beach and part of Somerton Park.

Find out how your suburb got its name ...


Established in 1836, it is the oldest European settlement on mainland South Australia. The name 'Glenelg' for the district first appeared in print in the Proclamation on 28 December 1836. George Stevenson (secretary to Governor Hindmarsh) wrote that it was he who suggested to Hindmarsh that 'the beautiful plains' on which the tents were pitched take the name of Lord Glenelg, a member of British Cabinet and Secretary of State for War and the Colonies. The Sturt Creek forms the western and southern boundaries, while Warren Avenue, James Melrose Drive, Harvey Terrace, Bonython Avenue and Pine Avenue make up the northern and eastern boundaries. Through Lord Glenelg, the name derives from Glenelg, Highland (but previously Inverness-shire), which in the Gaelic is Gleann Eilg. The name "Glenelg" is noteworthy for being a palindrome.



Located approximately 12 kilometres south west of the city-centre, the name Glengowrie means "Glen of Gowrie", so called in honour of Lord Gowrie (formally, Alexander Gore Arkwright Hore-Ruthven), Governor-General of Australia from 1936-1944.



Both the suburb and the Morphettville Racecourse (now known as Allan Scott Park) were named after Sir John Morphett (1809-1892), landowner and distinguished politician who, in 1843 he became one of the first non-official nominees in the Legislative Council. When the Legislative Council was reformed he was again nominated and in August 1851 he was elected Speaker. In the first elections under responsible government in March 1857 he won a place in the Legislative Council. In 1865 he became President of the Legislative Council, and retained the post until his retirement from politics in 1873. He was knighted in 1870, and died at his home, Cummins House, Morphettville, on 7 November 1892. As a prominent founder, his name figures large in South Australia's toponymy. 


West Beach

A descriptive name for a beach west of Adelaide.


Somerton Park

Named after Somerton in Somerset, England.

Former Suburbs of Morphett

Novar Gardens

First known as 'Morphettville' when laid out by the State Bank of South Australia on Part Section 152, Hundred of Adelaide, in 1921. The name was changed to Novar Gardens to honour Viscount Novar who, as Sir Ronald Munro Ferguson, was Governor General of Australia. He visited the site of the proposed new subdivision for returned servicemen's homes at Morphettville on 20 September 1919. A meeting of trustees of the State Bank decided two days later to name the subdivision in his honour. Munro-Ferguson requested that the area be called 'Novar' since this was the name of his family's estate in Ross county, Scotland (Novar House still exists). Novar was also the name by which Munro-Ferguson was best known in the Scottish highlands. The name was not formally approved until 1921, when the suburb's design had passed through the various stages of planning and survey. The land was originally part of John Morphett's 'Cummins Estate'. In 1842 he built his home, which he called 'Cummins' which was said to be the name of the Devonshire Village where his mother was born. The area of the original subdivision is now part of Glenelg North. Today's Novar Gardens extends along Morphett Road to James Melrose Drive.



The name Warradale, derived from Warra, an Aboriginal word for timber, was submitted by local residents of Oaklands when applying for a post office in January 1917, after the postal authorities pointed out that the use of the name Oaklands was likely to be confused with both Oaklands on Yorke Peninsula and in New South Wales. It is located in the south western part of Adelaide and serviced by Oaklands train station and several main roads.

Read 4271 times Last modified on Wednesday, 09 April 2014 11:54